A Letter from David Braemer, Head of School

David Braemer
Welcome to Ensworth.
Ensworth is a coeducational school where students in kindergarten through twelfth grades are nurtured and respected as individuals, challenged to become life-long learners, and inspired to be active contributors to any community of which they are a part.

This is clearly the case at Ensworth. Whether it is through our challenging curriculum, our diverse fine arts offerings or our robust athletic program, students and teachers engage in a learning process that is second to none.
At the heart of every great school is an exceptional faculty committed to guiding students as they explore their potential in a broad range of contexts.
By virtue of being an independent school, Ensworth has the freedom to provide a curriculum based on current best practices in education and to assess student performance in authentic, meaningful ways, which prepares our students exceptionally well for success in college and beyond.  

I invite you to explore Ensworth: learn about our Mission and Vision; meet our Faculty and Staff; learn about student opportunities in Academics, the Arts and Athleticssee where our graduates are admitted to college; then plan your visit to our two campuses where you will be able to experience firsthand what makes Ensworth such a vibrant, dynamic school community.

braemer sig

David J. Braemer
Head of School

Ensworth Leadership Team

List of 12 members.

  • Photo of David Braemer

    David Braemer 

    Head of School
    (615) 250-8920
    Amherst College - B.A.
    Boston College - M.Ed.
  • Photo of Richard Bowers

    Ricky Bowers 

    Associate Head of School; Director of Athletics-HS
    (615) 301-5415
    Samford University
    Lipscomb University - B.A.
    Tennessee State University - M.A.
  • Photo of Heather Caponi

    Heather Caponi 

    Head of Lower School
    (615) 301-5374
    Colby College - B.A.
    University of San Diego - M.Ed.
  • Photo of Rebekah Capps

    Rebekah Capps 

    Director of Enrollment Management
    (615) 301-5348
    University of Tennessee - B.A.
    Vanderbilt University - M.Ed.
  • Photo of Nowell Hesse

    Nowell Hesse 

    Head of High School
    (615) 250-8913
    University of Georgia - B.S.
    Vanderbilt University - M.Ed.
  • Photo of Jason Hiett

    Jason Hiett 

    Director of Technology
    (615) 250-8921
    Tennessee Technological University - B.S.
  • Photo of Edward James

    Bedell James 

    Director of Institutional Advancement
    (615) 250-8919
    Lynchburg College - B.A.
  • Photo of Whitney Johnson

    Whitney Johnson 

    Chief Financial Officer
    (615) 301-5367
    University of Central Arkansas - B.B.A.
    University of Arkansas - M.Acc.
  • Photo of Darwin Mason

    Dr. Darwin Mason 

    Head of Middle School; Life Teacher-MS
    (615) 301-8938
    Southwestern Christian College - A.A.
    Fisk University - B.A.
    Tennessee State University - M.Ed.
    Lipscomb University - Ed.D.
  • Photo of Bobby Mirzaie

    Bobby Mirzaie 

    Director of Curriculum & Instruction; History Teacher-HS; Head Boys Cross Country Coach-HS
    (615) 301-8939
    University of Oklahoma - B.A.
    Arizona State University - M.L.S.
    Northeastern University - Ed.D.
  • Photo of Tiffany Townsend

    Tiffany Townsend 

    Director of Marketing and Communications
    (615) 301-5347
    Vanderbilt University - B.A.
  • Photo of David Whitfield

    David Whitfield 

    Director of Community Engagement and Inclusion; English, History and Seminar Teacher-HS
    (615) 301-5378
    Tennessee State University - B.A.
    University of Chicago - M.A.
    Vanderbilt University - M.L.A.S.

Board of Trustees

Will Morrow, President
Jennifer Frist, Vice-President
Bruce Crosby, Treasurer
Jim Bowen, Secretary
John Jacobson, Counsel
Bruce Moore, Special Advisor

Kathryn Brown
Stuart Brunson
Gerard Bullock
Daphne Butler
Raja Clark
Beth Courtney
Amanda Farnsworth
Ben Freeland
Craig Goguen
Chad Greer
Brock Kidd
Emily Kurtz
Deb McDermott
Neal Patel
Yvonne Ralsky
Jamee Thompson
Stephaine Walker

David Braemer, Ex Officio - Head of School
Elizabeth Gerken, Ex Officio - Co-President, Ensworth Parent Association
Barbara Smith, Ex Officio - Co-President, Ensworth Parent Association
Amanda Graff, Ex Officio - President-Elect, Ensworth Parent Association
Anna Russell Friedman, Ex officio - President, Ensworth Alumni Council
Lauren Elcan, Ex officio - Chair, National Advisory Council